Laugfs Chairman conferred ‘Hall of Fame’ award by FCCISL

views 784 2019-02-15 10:09:00 business

Veteran business leader and Chairman of Laugfs Holdings, W.K.H. Wegapitiya, was conferred the “Hall of Fame” award by the Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Sri Lanka (FCCISL) at the sixteenth edition of the FCCISL Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year Awards 2018 held recently at BMICH.

Appraising his outstanding contribution made to the country and the national economy, he was conferred the prestigious award during the 23rd edition of the ‘Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year’ Award Ceremony 2018 held at the BMICH on Tuesday, 12th February 2019.

The Hall of Fame is an endeavour by the FCCISL to honour individuals of noteworthy achievements in their fields of expertise in the arena of entrepreneurship.

Wegapitiya is the Chairman of Laugfs Holdings, whose visionary leadership and inherent entrepreneurial approach has played a pivotal role in the growth story of Laugfs, which has today become a formidable conglomerate in the country. Within a mere span of 20 years, Laugfs has expanded its business presence across the region with diversified interests in a number of industries with over 20 businesses.

Wegapitiya’s strong entrepreneurial spirit and pioneering vision have helped lead Laugfs’s culture of innovation and pioneering businesses. His nationalistic pride has inspired Laugfs to build truly Sri Lankan brands that could compete in international markets, while building robust local industries and sustainable communities, contributing to economic and social progression of Sri Lanka. Wegapitiya’s strong affection towards nature has instilled sustainable practices and businesses that strive to preserve the environment.

The inspiring entrepreneurial journey of Wegapitiya has been recognized at both local and international levels, with numerous awards including the National Gold Award for Entrepreneurship, the prestigious Entrepreneur of the Year Platinum Award as well as the ‘Ada Derana Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year’ award in 2016. He has also been bestowed with the title of Deshabandu, an extremely rare lifetime national honour.

(under the courtesy of news web)

Latest News

Recent Post